Florida Online 4-Hour Traffic School (BDI)
If you have received a ticket in any Florida county and you plan to attend traffic school to keep the points off your license, you can take this 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course. Taking this course voluntarily for a Florida moving violation can prevent your insurance rate from increasing unless you were at fault in a crash (§626.9541, F.S.).
You can also sign up for this course if you have been ordered by a judge or court to attend a 4-hour traffic school course, or if you have been ordered by the Florida DHSMV to attend a Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC).
Florida Online Drug and Alcohol Course (START)
This 4-hour drug and alcohol course is required for all first time drivers before they can get their first Florida license (Class E learner license).
The START course fulfills the State's requirement for attendance of a Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) program, also sometimes known as a drug and alcohol course.
Complete your learner's license requirement the fast, easy and fun way with this Internet course that features video and animations!
Florida Online 8-Hour Traffic School (IDI)
You can sign up for this course if you have been ordered by a Florida judge or court to attend an 8-hour Intermediate Driver Improvement (IDI) course. Our course is approved in all 67 counties in Florida. Some counties (primarily Miami-Dade, Broward, Palm Beach, and Orange) allow a driver to elect to attend an IDI course if he or she has already elected to attend a 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course within the past twelve months. If you are not sure whether this is the course you need, please review the paperwork you received from the court or contact the court for assistance.
NOTE: This is not an Aggressive Driving or DWLSR course!
Florida Online Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI)
If your Florida driver license has been suspended or revoked, you are required to enroll in a 12-hour Advanced Driver Improvement course (ADI school) before your license can be reinstated or before you can apply for a hardship license.
Completion of ADI school is also required for drivers who have been classified as Habitual Traffic Offenders (HTOs).
This course can also be taken by a driver who has been ordered to attend ADI school by a Florida traffic court or judge.
Texas Online Defensive Driving Course
Texas drivers can take our State-approved online traffic school course if they have been ordered by a Texas judge or court to complete a Driver Safety Course or a Defensive Driving Course. Our course is fully approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) and is 100% online!
This course can also be taken voluntarily by a Texas driver for an automobile insurance discount of 10% or more. Check with your insurance company to find out if you are eligible.
Virginia Online Driver Improvement Course
Our 8-hour online traffic clinic is a great option for Virginia drivers who have gotten a traffic ticket and have been ordered to attend traffic school by a court or by the Virginia DMV. This course can also be taken voluntarily to earn up to 5 safe driver points on your Virginia driver's license. Virginia drivers can also take this course voluntarily for an automobile insurance discount of up to 10%! Check with your insurance company to find out if you are eligible.
NOTE: While the course content is offered online, you must take your final exam at one of our conveniently located testing centers. Click on the registration button for more details.
Important Information about Your Florida Traffic Ticket
Your automobile insurance premium can go up hundreds of dollars for just one Florida ticket! Fortunately, if you receive a Florida traffic ticket, you can keep points off your license and keep your insurance from increasing by signing up for traffic school.
This is possible because Florida law states that if you elect to attend Florida traffic school for a moving violation and you did not cause a crash, your insurance company cannot raise your rate, cancel your policy, or refuse to renew it (§626.9541, Florida Statutes). Also, by signing up for Florida online traffic school, you will get to keep your safe driver status (if you had this before you got your ticket).
You can elect to attend Florida traffic school unless:
- You have already elected once before within the past calendar year;
- You have elected five times within your lifetime;
- You hold a Commercial Driver's License (CDL)*;
- You received a Florida speeding ticket for driving more than 30 mph over the limit.
*CDL holders might be able to attend the BDI course for point dismissal if they get a court order.
Contact the Florida Clerk of the Court
If you decide to go to traffic school, you must notify the clerk of the court in the county where you received your ticket. Each county has its own system for traffic school election. Please check the rules with the county in which you received the citation BEFORE you pay your ticket!
Once you have completed the Florida online traffic school course, you will need to turn your completion certificate in to the court. Although we report student completions to the court in many cases, it is ultimately YOUR responsibility to make sure the court has received your completion certificate. If the court does not receive proof of course completion, your driver license may be suspended by DHSMV.
In Miami-Dade County, you have 120 days from the date you pay your Florida ticket to complete your Florida traffic school course and turn in your completion certificate. In most other Florida counties you have 60-90 days from the date you pay your Florida traffic ticket. It's a good idea to make a copy of your certificate for your records before you send it to the clerk of the court.
Looking for a Classroom Course?
Suncoast Defensive Driving School offers the following traffic safety courses in the classroom:
- 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement (BDI)
- 4-hour Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC)
- 4-hour court-ordered traffic school
- 4-hour first time driver / drug and alcohol course
- 12-hour Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI)
Our classroom courses are taught by State of Florida-certified instructors with years of teaching experience. Call us at (941) 556-1161 for more information on our classroom courses. You can also visit our website.
Behind the Wheel Instruction
Is learning to drive at home a little tense for everybody? It won’t be with Suncoast Defensive Driving School. SDDS offers superior in-car training for Sarasota and Manatee counties.
Be “GREEN” in our HYBRIDS, equipped with dual brakes, front and side airbags and anti-lock braking systems.
Suncoast Defensive Driving School:
- Superior In-Car Training
- Interactive Driver Training Software
- DMV Road Test Preparation
- Insurance Certificates
- Online Courses
- Your Schedule is our Schedule
Call us at (941) 556-1161 or visit our website for more information on behind the wheel instruction.
Suncoast Defensive Driving School is your #1 choice in Florida for Sarasota traffic school online, serving all 67 Florida counties with quality online programs. Tell your friends about us.