There's no better place to get your Texas traffic ticket dismissed than DTA Texas Online. We've been helping Texas drivers with Texas defensive driving and other online courses for nearly a decade.

For a Dallas, Houston, San Antonio, Fort Worth, or El Paso speeding ticket, we can't be beat. We charge just $25.00 for our Texas traffic school course, the lowest price allowed by TX law.

Why risk your license with an out of state school that doesn't know Texans from New Yorkers? We're local and we've been in business since 1977, helping Texas drivers with tickets, driver education, and more.

Our online course is not all reading like many other Internet driving safety courses. It uses video to educate while you are being entertained. Take us for a test drive today and you'll be glad you did!

Texas Defensive Driving Online

Texas drivers who have gotten a traffic ticket can take this course if a Texas judge, magistrate, or court has approved them to attend a defensive driving course (traffic school). This convenient, easy course is 100% online and fully approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA).

This course can also be taken voluntarily by a Texas driver for an automobile insurance discount of 10% or more. Check with your insurance company to find out if you are eligible.

divider line

Texas DADAP Course Online

Persons who are convicted in Texas of certain drug and alcohol-related offenses may be ordered to attend the 6-hour Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness Program (DADAP). Also, any Texas driver can take this course voluntarily to obtain a mandatory 5% auto insurance discount. Drivers who voluntarily attend BOTH a defensive driving course and a DADAP course may be eligible to receive a total insurance discount of 15%.

NOTE: This course cannot be taken to dismiss a Texas traffic ticket! Driver wishing to get a ticket dismissed should sign up for the Texas defensive driving course above.

divider line

About the Online Texas Defensive Driving Course

DTA's Program for Driver Improvement course is a 6-hour driving safety course that has been approved by the Texas Education Agency for ticket dismissal and auto insurance discount. Unlike other courses that are mostly dull reading, this course breaks up the content with videos and cartoons. Millions of Texas drivers have satisfied their responsibility to attend traffic school by taking this easy, convenient course.

Taking this defensive driving course for ticket dismissal

If you wish to take the online defensive driving course in order to get a Texas traffic citation dismissed, you should notify the court that this is your intention. The court will then enter a judgment on your plea of no contest or guilty at the time the plea is made. You will be given 90 days to complete the course. DTA's online defensive driving course is accepted by all Texas counties and jurisdictions.

What to do after you complete the defensive driving course

After you complete the course, you will need to provide the court with a copy of 1) your completion certificate; and possibly 2) a certified copy of your driving record. To order a copy of your driving record, click here and follow the instructions on the page. Many courts will also require that you provide them with an affidavit stating that you were NOT already taking a defensive driving course when you made your request to the court, nor did you complete a defensive driving course in the 12 months before the date of your offense for another ticket dismissal.

About the Auto Insurance Discount

Most Texas drivers who take the defensive driving course can receive a discount of up to 10% on their automobile insurance premium. This discount applies even if you are taking your defensive driving course for ticket dismissal. The auto insurance discount remains in effect over a 3-year period. We suggest that you contact your automobile insurance provider before taking this defensive driving course to learn their procedures for obtaining your insurance discount.

Texas drivers may only take the defensive driving course for insurance discount purposes once every 36 months.

How you can get an additional 5% insurance discount

76[R] HB 3757 authorizes a mandatory 5% auto insurance discount for Texas drivers who complete a 6-hour DADAP course. If you have already received a 10% Texas insurance discount for completing a 32-hour drivers ed course or a 6-hour defensive driving course, you can take DADAP for an additional 5%, resulting in a total insurance discount of 15%. If your policy is $1,000 a year, your total insurance savings would be $450 over a 3-year period!

Remember, DTA Texas Online is your first choice for Texas Defensive Driving and we are the ONLY company that offers the Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness Program online. Serving Texas drivers since 1977.

divider line

Returning Students

Please enter your login name below and click on the "Log In" button to return to the course.

If you have already signed up for the course, you do not need to register again.

I forgot my login name.

Secure website image
Image of phone number.

This is a secure website. Any personal information you submit to us is encrypted during transmission for your protection. We do not sell, rent, or distribute your information to any third parties.

Payments made on this site are encrypted for your security.

All courses offered through this website were developed by Driver Training Associates, Inc., the nation's leader in traffic safety education since 1977. Courses accessed through this site are hosted by TicketSchool.com.