Texas Defensive Driving Online
Approved by the State of Texas
If you are looking for a 6-hour defensive driving course, you want one that's approved by the State of Texas. Some courses offered online are only approved for certain counties in California or a few other locations.
Not so with our course! DTA's Texas defensive driving program is fully approved by the Texas Education Agency for ticket dismissal and auto insurance discounts. With DTA, you can rest assured that the course certificate you receive will be accepted by a Texas court.
Eligible drivers who complete this Driving Safety Course are entitled to the following benefits under Texas law:
- Dismissal of traffic ticket – If a Texas court has required you to attend a 6-hour defensive driving course, this online course will meet those requirements. In Texas, ticket dismissal is sometimes referred to as the deferred adjudication process.
- Insurance premium discount – This course is also approved by the Texas State Board of Insurance for an auto insurance premium discount of up to 10%, effective for a three-year policy period. DTA's defensive driving course is one of few courses certified for this purpose. Since a driver's record may affect whether this discount will be accepted by the insurer, you should contact your insurance agency before taking the course to make sure you qualify for the discount.
Texas DMV Approved Course
Unlike most other states, Texas does not have a state agency called the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Instead, driver improvement courses are approved by the Texas Education Agency. When you are selecting the driver improvement course that's right for a Texas traffic citation, you should choose a course that is TEA approved such as the one offered on this website.
Texas Defensive Driving Main Page
Call to register if you live in the Denton area.
Your registration and payment are encrypted on our website. Learn more...